Asus RT-N16 (router) Tomato USB and PPTP via iPad.

image

After a failed experiment with a netgear router (see previous post). I did additional research and bought this “Asus RT-N16 router” as a replacement. This seems to be the best router you can flashed the “tomato USB firmware” with. The flashing process is detailed in “patrick sheedy simple-tomato-firmware-install-on-asus-rt-n16-router” link.

After a successful attempt of upgrading the router to “tomato usb”. The following steps are what I did to achieve PPTP VPN via an iPad.

  • Install optware (this is the package manager for tomato) – an external usb drive is a requirement.
  • Download and configure PPTP VPN. Note, In my case I chose a Multi-Net configuration.  
  • You need to create a directory /opt/var/run/
  • Note if you are using this script for vpn.fire

#!/bin/sh
MAX_VPN_CLIENTS=10

iptables -A INPUT -p gre -j ACCEPT
iptables -A INPUT -p tcp —dport 1723 -j ACCEPT

for i in $(seq 0 $(($MAX_VPN_CLIENTS-1))); do
IF=ppp$i
iptables -A INPUT -i $IF -j ACCEPT
iptables -A FORWARD -i $IF -j ACCEPT
done

use this instead

#!/bin/sh
MAX_VPN_CLIENTS=10

iptables -A INPUT -p gre -j ACCEPT
iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 1723 -j ACCEPT

I=0
while [ $I -lt $MAX_VPN_CLIENTS ]; do
  IF=ppp$I
  iptables -A INPUT -i $IF -j ACCEPT
  iptables -A FORWARD -i $IF -j ACCEPT
  let $((I=I+1))
done
 
 
  • To simplify connections use OpenDNS
  • Here’s a "you tube video" on how to set up a pptp for your ipad (i give full credit to the author) . Note, that server can be replaced by the DNS entry you used in the previous item “OpenDNS”.  Note, to be able to have full access to all your machines in your home network make sure that “Send All Traffic” is turned on …

So, far I have had no issues with my current setup. I am able to successfully vpn to my home from my ipad and have full access. Later virtual machines and connecting …

  
One thought on “Asus RT-N16 (router) Tomato USB and PPTP via iPad.

  1. Thanks for the tutorial! One remark: IMHO it would be helpfull to know that icmp should not be blocked, to give TCP the chance to adjust WinSizes. A decreased MTU size will also help to improve the performance in many cases.

    Cheers, Uwe

Leave a Reply

