Issue with Vista not booting

Working Friday also transferring rooms I set up my Vista work laptop– work environment. Connecting the external monitor and plugging the blue cable doo hickey into the hub “bla bla bla”. Lo and behold I turned on my heavy duty dell precision m4400. Wow, I won, I won – I got the darn blue screen of death. Vista won’t boot – my heart skipped a couple of beats.

After going to a safe boot – turning logging on and also setting a pause if an error occurred – that’s in the safe boot settings (pressing F8 while booting). I have determined that all hell breaks loose after crcdisk.sys. Here is a snippet from the boot log (ntbtlog.txt):

Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\drivers\disk.sys

Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\drivers\CLASSPNP.SYS

Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\drivers\crcdisk.sys

Did not load driver @nettun.inf,%isatap.displayname%;Microsoft ISATAP Adapter

Did not load driver @nettun.inf,%isatap.displayname%;Microsoft ISATAP Adapter

Did not load driver @nettun.inf,%isatap.displayname%;Microsoft ISATAP Adapter

The dreaded crcdisk.sys error short for “Why Oh Why oh why developers don’t write understandable messages. Or maybe create error messages in English. So users won’t wave a dead chicken over their computer and hope. Yes hope that – that sane act would make it work”.

I tried every auto startup repair that Vista offered. Note, offered – is the same verb but in the past tense that Don Corleone frequently recite’s. I can hear Michael say “freeedddoooo my darn disk is dead”. The auto repair did not work. Thank you very much Don “Microsoft”

After a Google on the subject (that’s another Don), lead me to MSDN. This trail reveals that the solution is to boot from a DVD or USB disk and do a chckdsk. You need the Vista Install DVD to boot to a command prompt and repair the disk – chckdsk.

Here is a link from Microsoft: http://social.technet.microsoft.com/forums/en-US/itprovistasetup/thread/86ef2cea-808a-40ec-bc30-7a426577f48d/

Moral of the story… have a boot disk or the original install disks. If you bought a preinstalled computer always make sure you can get a copy of the OS on a separate DVD so you can do some maintenance.

By the way I do enjoy the God Father series 😉

Leave a Reply

